PDA

View Full Version : Flash Cards

Paul Wolfe
09-27-2013, 10:14 AM
Okay, it is 2:38 AM here in Washington State and I woke up an hour ago unable to sleep, so, of course, I started playing around with Neck Diagrams (doesn't everybody do this?)...

I got to thinking, after drawing up a B Major scale with 2 string groupings, that it'd be cool to create flash cards as a study tool and/or teaching aid.

Let me explain: I'm thinking about a set of cards in a given key with the Major scale diagrammed on one card, 2 string groupings of the scale on the next 5 cards (say 1st and 2nd string on a card, then 2nd & 3rd, etc), 3-note-per-string layouts (6th string root & 5th string root) on the next 2 cards, a couple cards with scale patterns ascending across the strings (a lead pattern thing where you start on the 6th string and climb diagonally up the neck, it's the wee hours and I can't think of how to explain this), next would be a card for each of the triad chords in the key, and finally a card each for the major, minor & diminished arpeggios.

My personal practice routine consists of doing things in a specific key each day - E on Sunday, F on Monday, G on Tuesday, etc. So I was thinking along the lines of having a batch of flash cards and on a given day shuffle through them and pick, say, 4 cards to work on before turning my attention to songs, etc. That way daily practice isn't monotonously specific but, rather, gets changed up each day while maintaining the topics needed to be practiced.

Is this making sense?

So I looked at the Avery site for Flash Cards and they do have cards for printing this sort of thing (Avery has everything)... Here (http://www.avery.com/avery/en_us/Products/Cards/Flash-Cards/AveryA-Custom-Print-FlashcardsWhiteLaser-Ink-Jet-3inx5in-4-Per-Sheet25-Sheets100-Cards-Per-Pack_04750.htm?N=0&Ns=&refchannel=c042fd03ab30a110VgnVCM1000002118140aRCR D) is the Avery product.